Cultural Development

                       The municipality of Calamba is geographically positioned in the Northern part of the Misamis Occidental Province. It has a grid of approximately 8° 31’58” North Latitude and 123°39’03” East Longitude along the National Highway from the cities of Ozamis to Oroquieta to Dipolog of Zamboanga del Norte. Calamba is situated at the center of five municipalities. From its actual location, municipality of Baliangao is found on the North, municipality of Concepcion on the South, municipality of Plaridel on North East, municipality of Lopez Jaena on the South East and lastly municipality of Sapang Dalaga on the West.
                      “Solinog” was Calamba’s original name which was based on a deep bankrill located at the eastern portion of the poblacion where Langaran River flows. After years passed by, the Municipal Council of Plaridel changed its name to CALAMBA after the Filipino Patriot’s birthplace. Calamba was just a small barrio of the Municipality of Plaridel but because it grew so fast, it was separated from the municipality. Calamba was declared independent on February 1, 1948 under Executive Order No. 85 series of 1947 by the late President of the Philippines, His Excellency Manuel A. Roxas. After a year, it was inaugurated into a municipality on February 14, 1948. During the earliest times, the “Subanos” were the local individuals of the Municipality of Calamba. They had practice of clearing certain areas one after the other. Those cleared areas were later abandoned and easily replaced by new settlers coming from Visayas and some other parts of Mindanao.


1 2 3


Political Development


    The Municipality of Calamba was created on February 1, 1948 and was inaugurated on February 14, 1948, the following was then elected:

Hon. Irenio Clapano Municipal Mayor 1948-1949
Hon. Angelo Neri Municipal Mayor 1949-1953
Hon. Patricio L. Atay Municipal Mayor 1953-1957
Hon. Gustavo Neri Municipal Mayor 1957-1965
Hon. Lorenzo de Guzman Municipal Mayor 1965-1973
Hon. Pedro B. Lorejo Municipal Mayor 1973-1986
Hon. Porferio C. Branzuela, Jr. Municipal Mayor 1986-1988
Engr. Luisito B. Villanueva, Jr. Municipal Mayor 1989-1995
Atty. Inocencio D. Pagalaran, Jr. Municipal Mayor 1995-2001
Engr. Luisito B. Villanueva, Jr Municipal Mayor 2001-2009
Engr. Ezel T. Villanueva Municipal Mayor 2009-2022

    And in 2022 election, the new set of elective officials who managed sincerely and religiously the Municipality up to the present are the following to wit;


Dr. Luisito B. Villanueva, Jr. Municipal Mayor
Hon. Antonio N. Lawas Sr. Municipal Vice Mayor
Hon. Cesar Ian E. Enerio SB Member
Hon. Garry A. Arapoc SB Member
Hon. Dennis M. Bunao SB Member
Hon. Prince Junel G. Sevills, JD SB Member
Hon. Caridad C. Lansang SB Member
Hon. Rediculo R.Valdehueza, JR.CPA SB Member
Hon. Sammy Ford Lansang SB Member
Hon. Cherry F. Magsayo SB Member
Hon. Luciano O. Dumanhug IP's Representative
Hon. Ken Allen B. Lawas SB Member / ABC Pres.
Hon. Ma Angel Princess C. Canda SB Member / FSK Pres.


    The Municipality has an estimated land area of 112.54 square kilometers, more or less 5% of the total land area of Misamis Occidental. In terms of land area, Calamba is one of the smaller municipalities in the province.

Name of Barangay  Land Area (sq. km.)
1. Southwestern Poblacion
2. Solinog
3. Northern Poblacion
4. Don Bernardo A. Neri
5. Bunawan
6. Calaran
7. Magcamiguing
8. Langub
9. Bonifacio
10. Dapacan Alto
11. Dapacan Bajo
12. Mamalad
13. Mauswagon
14. Libertad
15. Sulipat
16. San Isidro
17. Singalat
18. Siloy
19. Salvador
Total 112.544290


                   Rainfalls and typhoons are the climatological elements that mainly affect community’s any agricultural related productions. Without pronounced dry and wet season, Calamba’s climate belongs to the fourth grade. This type is characterized as moist, with an average rainfall of 2,278.7mm throughout the year. The driest months in the society starts on February to April. The wettest period falls during May to December (eight-month period) where 40% of the total rainfall falls in October to December. 





Login Form

Who's Online

We have 25 guests and no members online




Articles View Hits
Back to Top